Welcome to the Lib Guide for Charles County History Day!
The History Day theme for this school year is “Conflict and Compromise in History”.
Each high school student has the option of completing a History Day project will count for up to 10% of the students 3rd Quarter grade. The History Day project includes submission of status reports, various rough drafts, the final draft project and a concluding self-assessment form. Every student or group has the option of choosing from five categories of projects - Documentary, Exhibit, Historical Paper, Performance or Web Site.
Outstanding projects from each school will advance to Charles County History Day.
To get the best grades on the status reports listed on the timeline, rough drafts, and final project students must follow all directions and complete work by the due dates given.
All projects must be preapproved and follow the guidelines of the History Day program. They also must contain original research, analysis and conclusions by the student or group that provides proof the project was done by them.
If you have any questions about due dates, project selection, or completing forms please see your social studies teacher.
For students completing a History Day project for extra credit, the project will count towards 10% extra credit of your social studies grade for the 3rd Quarter only. The components listed below will contribute towards the 10% History Fair grade and can be found in the Student Packet:
Status Report #1 (pg. 17)
Status Report #2 (pg. 18)
Status Report #3 (pgs. 19-20)
Status Report #4 (pg. 21-22)
Status Report #5 (pgs. 23-26)
Status Report #6 (pgs. 27-28)
Status Report #7 (pgs.29-32)
Status Report #8 (pg. 33)
Final Project submitted along with the process paper, and annotated bibliography
History Day Project Reflection Assignments (pg. 34-37)
Remember that your teachers are here to help you. Before we can do that, you have to ask for help. Here is a list of the Social Studies Departments.
•Teachers make student packet materials available to interested students
•Students complete and submit Status Reports #1- #3
•Students continue conducting primary and secondary research
•Students submit Status Reports #4 - #6
•Students finalize primary and secondary research
•Students complete and submit final projects, process paper, and bibliography (including Status Reports #7 - #8)
•Students complete county registration forms based on project approval by their School History Day Coordinator and submit forms to teachers
•Teachers submit registration forms to school History Fair Coordinators by Friday, January 19
•Students continue research and improve entries
•Students participate in the Charles County HITS Expo History Day competition on March 2 and 3 at St. Charles H.S.
•Students complete the Self-Assessment assignment. (Optional)
•State Workshop for 1st and 2nd place winners on Thursday, March 8, 2018 at Davis Middle School
•Maryland History Day competition on Saturday, April 28, 2018 at UMBC
•National History Day competition at the University of Maryland, College Park in June 2017
If you create a Resource List through Destiny, your citations will automatically be in MLA format. If you utilize the county provided databases or the new Universal Search feature in Destiny, citations are available in MLA format (as well as others). If you choose to search elsewhere for resources, please remember that you are required to cite your sources. Each student is responsible for making sure their references are in MLA format. This is a very easy process if you use a citation building website. See the links below to access these resources. Remember to select MLA format.
If you need help with your citations, you should see your social studies teacher or your school's Media Specialist.
*Remember that your final draft MUST be typed & separated into primary and secondary sources!
Be sure to include an annotation (brief description of why you used the source) for every source you use in your annotated bibliography. Here is an example of an annotated bibliography.
Sample Annotated Bibliography:
Fleischmann, Glen. The Cherokee Removal, 1838. New York: Franklin Watts, Inc., 1971
I learned about what happened to the Cherokee Indians before and after they were forced on the “Trail of Tears”. I also learned about several important people from that time period. This was a great source.
Mulligan, Elizabeth. “Grandpa was an Indian Chief.” The St. Louis Post-Dispatch. 18 01. 1970: 4.
This interview about different accounts of the Cherokee “Trail of Tears” taught me about one of the families who experienced its horrors, but who also continued to maintain its proud cultural identity.
Rutledge, Michael J., “Samuel’s Memory”. 1995. 23 10 2009.
I learned about how difficult it was for the Cherokees to be forced to go on the “Trail of Tears” and how families were uprooted and mistreated. This was a very worthwhile source.
History Day Categories
Students will choose from one of the following categories to complete their project. Students will either work as an individual or in small groups (max 4 students).
Below you will find a link to the National History Day Competition winners to use as exemplars for all categories.
Documentaries: Individual and Group
Web Sites: Individual and Group
Exhibits: Individual and Group
Performances: Individual and Group
Historical Papers: Individual Only
Writing a Process Paper
Answer the four important questions below to compose your process paper – each question should equal one paragraph!
**Remember there is a 500-word limit for the essay.
What is your topic? Why and how did you choose your topic?
This paragraph should also include a statement of your thesis.
(This should be a brief paragraph to serve as an introduction to the rest of your essay).
How did you research and develop your topic (project)? What project format did you choose and why?
(This is also a brief paragraph giving an overall explanation of the work you have done – gone to the library, used the Internet, gone to museums, changes made etc.)
How does your topic relate to this year’s theme?
(This paragraph should go into detail explaining the evidence you found that either proves or disproves your thesis statement.)
What is the importance of your topic today? How has your topic changed history or life today?
(This paragraph should be in detail. You are analyzing why your topic is important – giving specific details and examples.)
Paragraphs 1 and 2 should be relatively short (no more than 4-5 sentences!), and paragraphs 3 and 4 should be longer, including all of the analysis you need to prove your thesis and complete your project.
Judges are looking for interpretation and analysis of your topic – not just a rewriting of the information you researched.
National History Day and College & Career Readiness Standards
History Day combines good instructional practices in teaching with the College and Career Readiness Standards through the use of analyzing and interpreting primary and secondary sources. Through the link below you will find more information on how History Day incorporates these standards.